Skip to main content

Local Authors

Katherine Arden
Current price: $28.99
During the Great War, a combat nurse searches for her brother, believed dead in the trenches despite eerie signs that suggest otherwise, in this hauntingly beautiful historical novel with a speculative twist, from the New York Times bestselling author of The Bear and the Nightingale. “A wonderful cl ... Read More about
Usually Ships in 2 to 5 Days
Kenneth M. Cadow
Current price: $17.99
A 2023 National Book Award FinalistA Michael L. Printz Honor Book "Arguably one of the finest novels of the year."—Booklist (starred review) A resourceful teenager in rural Vermont struggles to hold on to the family home while his mom recovers from addiction in this striking debut novel. Ian Gray is ... Read More about
On Our Shelves Now
"Covid-19 stole so much. But one of the things it couldn't steal was the power of stories." From the author of the international bestseller The Headmaster's Wife and other novels comes a collection of essays written during the Covid-19 pandemic while the author sheltered in place in his tiny Vermo ... Read More about
On Our Shelves Now
Mary Elder Jacobsen
Current price: $16.95
Moving between songful expressions of mourning, solace, delight, and play, poems in Stonechat span themes of family, grief, joy, beauty, human nature, the natural world, love, parenting, and discovery. Within these pages Jacobsen explores, sometimes in form and sometimes in invented form, how the wo ... Read More about
Available for Preorder
Find your ideal foods and cultivate wellness with traditional wisdom • Weaves together three ancestral healing philosophies with modern nutrition science to show how to discover your ideal eating plan • Shares recipes, meal plans, food lists, and stories to illustrate the concepts discussed and help ... Read More about
On Our Shelves Now
Julia Alvarez
Current price: $28.00
We are delighted to be hosting Julia Alvarez for an Author Event for this beautiful new novel!  Join us April 10th at the Unitarian Church at 130 Main Street in Montpelier.  ... Read More about
Available for Preorder
Chris Bohjalian
Current price: $29.00
THE PRINCESS IS FAKE. THE MURDERS ARE REAL • From the New York Times bestselling author of The Flight Attendant and The Lioness, a Princess Diana impersonator and her estranged sister find themselves drawn into a dangerous game of money and murder in this twisting tale of organized crime, cryptocurr ... Read More about
Available for Preorder
Ken Libertoff
Current price: $18.99
We all have a story to tell but rarely does someone craft such an expansive and varied memoir, full of life, love, travels, disappointments, and achievements. Told by first-time author Ken Libertoff, Snapshots of a Life shares universal truths in a conversational tone exhibiting resiliency, family p ... Read More about
On Our Shelves Now
“One of the rare books on the topic that manages to be both entertaining and factually grounded.” —The Wall Street Journal From the bestselling author of Raven Rock, The Only Plane in the Sky, and Watergate (finalist for the Pulitzer Prize in history) comes the first comprehensive and eye-opening ex ... Read More about
On Our Shelves Now
Nancy Price Graff
Current price: $18.99
Based on a true story, this tribute to everyday heroism doubles as a lyrical primer on how landscapes evolve. Long Pond—clear, reflective, and bent in the middle like a crooked finger—has been a source of joy and nourishment to a Vermont village for many years. But when a sudden late-summer storm ca ... Read More about
On Our Shelves Now
Rick Winston
Current price: $18.99
Rick Winston's lifelong love of movies led to the creation of one of Vermont's leading cultural institutions, the Savoy Theater in Montpelier, Vermont. With humor and heart, he takes us behind the scenes of the hard and rewarding work of building a film venue over decades in a grateful community. Sa ... Read More about
On Our Shelves Now
Lloyd Devereux Richards
Current price: $18.99
From TikTok sensation Lloyd Devereux Richards, author of Stone Maidens, comes the next pulse-pounding thriller in which FBI agent Christine Prusik races to track down a serial killer who leaves a peculiar mark on his victims Forensic anthropologist Christine Prusik has a knack for solving the most u ... Read More about
On Our Shelves Now
Sydney Lea
Current price: $17.95
Retrospective of a long life and already inimitable career in poetry, Sydney Lea’s What Shines asserts and asks in equal measure. In older age, Lea affirms the luster of fruit long labored for: a resilient and happy marriage; the rewards of parenthood and, later, grandchildren; a profound intimacy w ... Read More about
On Our Shelves Now
Daniel Hecht
Current price: $27.99
Conn Whitman's long-distance swims keep him centered and sane--until a terrifying underwater encounter in a woodland lake plunges him into the middle of a murder investigation. Once a superstar investigative reporter, disgraced by misconduct, Conn returned to his Vermont hometown to put his life bac ... Read More about
On Our Shelves Now
GennaRose Nethercott
Current price: $17.00
From the author of the breakout novel Thistlefoot: a collection of dark fairytales and fractured folklore exploring how our passions can save us—or go monstrously wrong. The stories in Fifty Beasts to Break Your Heart are about the abomination that resides within us all. That churning, clawing, rave ... Read More about
On Our Shelves Now
Gesine Bullock-Prado
Current price: $35.00
An instant New York Times bestseller Vermont—arguably the OG farm-to-table state—is celebrated through 100+ recipes and stories from celebrated pastry chef Gesine Bullock-Prado. When Gesine Bullock-Prado left her Hollywood life in 2004 and moved to Vermont, she fell in love with the Green Mountain S ... Read More about
On Our Shelves Now
The best of Vermont, from the kitchens of Simon Pearce and King Arthur to the fields of local farms. The picturesque Green Mountain State is known for its maple syrup, stunning peaks, and undeniable farm-to-table spirit. Truly the core of Vermont’s community, independent farms and agricultural diver ... Read More about
On Our Shelves Now
Jennifer McMahon
Current price: $28.99
From the New York Times bestselling author of The Children on the Hill, a psychological thriller “that delivers both chilling scares and genuine emotion” (Chandler Baker, New York Times bestselling author) about a woman who, after taking in her dying, alcoholic mother, begins to suspect demonic poss ... Read More about
On Our Shelves Now
"Taylor presents an appealingly nuanced twist on the traditional police procedural.” –The Washington Post Sarah Stewart Taylor is known for her atmospheric portrayal of an American detective in Ireland, and her critically acclaimed series returns with A Stolen Child. After months of training, former ... Read More about
On Our Shelves Now
From two Coretta Scott King Honor winners comes this uplifting picture book biography about Ketanji Brown Jackson, who is making history as the first Black woman to serve as a Supreme Court Justice. Ketanji Brown Jackson is no stranger to overcoming obstacles. When a high school guidance counselor t ... Read More about
On Our Shelves Now
Patrick Leahy
Current price: $19.99
A historic, sweeping memoir from United States Senator Patrick Leahy, currently the chamber’s longest-serving senator and President Pro Tempore. In his landmark memoir The Road Taken, Patrick Leahy looks back on a life lived on the front lines of American politics. As the senior-most member and de ... Read More about
On Our Shelves Now
Stephen P. Kiernan
Current price: $30.00
From the critically acclaimed author of Universe of Two and The Baker’s Secret, a novel of hope, healing, and the redemptive power of art, set against the turmoil of post-World War II France and inspired by the life of Marc Chagall “[A] spellbinding fable of sanctuary, art, and recovery.” — Booklist ... Read More about
Usually Ships in 2 to 5 Days
Sarah Strohmeyer
Current price: $18.99
“A diabolical and deliciously twisty romp through reality TV home renovations infused with humor and warmth. Sarah Strohmeyer does murder and suspense in all the best possible ways!” —Wanda M. Morris, award-winning author of All Her Little Secrets and Anywhere You Run From the bestselling author of ... Read More about
On Our Shelves Now
Senator Bernie Sanders
Current price: $28.00
NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER • A progressive takedown of the uber-capitalist status quo that has enriched millionaires and billionaires at the expense of the working class, and a blueprint for what transformational change would actually look like “A clarion call against the American oligarchs . . . pow ... Read More about
On Our Shelves Now
M. T. Anderson
Current price: $18.99
A Newbery Honor Book "A hilarious, heartfelt triumph."—Kirkus Reviews (starred review) From the singular imagination of National Book Award winner M. T. Anderson comes a magical adventure about a boy and his dog—or a dog and her boy—and a forest of wonders hidden in plain sight. Clay has had his fil ... Read More about
On Our Shelves Now
Ellen Bryant Voigt
Current price: $30.00
A monumental celebration of “one of the most significant poets writing today” (David Baker, Los Angeles Review of Books). In eight extraordinary volumes spanning five decades, Ellen Bryant Voigt has created a body of work distinguished by its formal precision, rigorous intelligence, and meticulous o ... Read More about
On Our Shelves Now
Dan &. Jason, Dan Abdo, Jason Patterson
Current price: $12.99
The fifth volume of the emerging readers graphic novel series about three friends (a bunny, a worm, and a frog) whose adventures are driven by their very different personalities. Perfect for fans of Narwhal & Jelly and Elephant & Piggie!Blue, Barry, and Pancakes are best friends! They love e ... Read More about
On Our Shelves Now